Ẹ Wá Kọ́ Ẹ̀kọ́ Èdè Yorùbá Pẹ̀lú Mi!

A forum for guides, lessons and sharing of useful information.
thetha
mayan
mayan

Ẹ Wá Kọ́ Ẹ̀kọ́ Èdè Yorùbá Pẹ̀lú Mi!

Post by thetha »

As promised, I'll start posting some lessons on Yoruba here as I go through my course here at the university. This is where I will gradually post everything I learn. Now, I am not a native speaker of this language and I am by no means an expert, so I can only teach you what I discover as a student. I don't have the resources to go into detail about some things that will come up later on, which means a couple things are going to happen "just because they do" and that'll be as much explanation as I can give. With that said, here we go!

Ẹ̀kọ́ Kìíní - Lesson One: Phonology
Let's start with the basic phoneme inventory:

-Consonants
Labial: /m f b w/ - <m f b w>
Alveolar: /l~n ɾ s t d/ - <l/n r s t d>
Post-Alveolar/Palatal: /j~ʝ ʃ ɟ~dʒ/ - <y ṣ j>
Velar: /k g k͡p g͡b/- <k g p gb>

-Vowels
/a e ɛ i u o ɔ ĩ ɛ̃ ũ ɔ̃ N/ - <a e ẹ i u o ọ in ẹn un ọn/an n>
+High, low, or mid tone (marked á à a respectively)

Allophony and Co.
-The phonemes /k/ and /t/ can often have accompanying aspiration, with /t/ even being pronounced [tsʰ] occasionally.

-The consonants <y> and <w> can be pronounced with a bit of frication, but this usually only happens when speakers are over-enunciating to (for example) make sure someone heard them.

-I've heard <j> as [dʒ] most often but some people list it as a palatal plosive so who knows. Either pronunciation is fine.

-The sound [h] can pop up sometimes and linguists often do list that as a phoneme, but I'm pretty sure it's in free variation with null onset/vowel hiatus because it doesn't really appear initially in words and there are quite a few words that are written with or without it. For completeness, I'll let you guys know that it is written to match its IPA value, and I will write it in when that's the 'standard' spelling.