Introducing Vyrmag

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
tigfa
hieroglyphic
hieroglyphic

Introducing Vyrmag

Post by tigfa »

Aktum! Hello!

First of all let me state that I am very new to the CBB. I have spent most of my time on the /r/conlangs reddit. I apologize in advance if the standards of this post does not fit the community standard (I actually have no idea what the community standard is). For now, I will simple post with the same expectations that would be met over in /r/conlangs.

What is Vyrmag?
Vyrmag is an oligosynthetic language. what differs it from other oligosynthetic languages is that you will be able to use the language to a near-full extent with knowledge of only the root words and merging techniques. I won't go too in-depth with this post, but you can always check out http://www.reddit.com/r/Vyrmag/ for more information.

I'm just going to talk about the highlights of the language.

- It's been around for 6 months, and has accumulated around 17 proficient speakers.
- I actually never made proper grammar for Vyrmag, but instead, I let the community use the language and then I later logged down certain aspects of grammar. In short, I created a crude language with many missing features, which were later polished off by the community.
- Vyrmag is fully functional with 85 words and 5 affixes.
- Vyrmag is actually my first conlang. I never really bothered to work on other conlangs, and I put all of my effort into Vyrmag and its community.

Edit: Sample Text
Spoiler:
Sorry, unable to provide IPA because I'm on a tablet right now. Also, I suck at glossing (It's one of the things I still have to learn).

belg an'nya en nov "orlins"
ye'kyop yug tara'iya'kyo on
ag kyop art il'kyub iya syu daig'syu
ag vyuk, ae krana e ae vyum

Building neg.-notexist in new Orleans
gen.-it name (copula) air-direction-move sun
and it create intensifier-destruction towards many people-plural.
and true, I know one I be.
Can anyone guess the song?