ŗahrih raçnann

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
ukfl
rupestrian
rupestrian

ŗahrih raçnann

Post by ukfl »

I'm still new at designing conlangs and hope I can get some help from those with much more experience and knowledge on the subject. I'm designing a prime language that I can use as a starting point for developing a language family. The idea is that the language begins deliberately designed by the deities who created the people making up the first civilization in my world. As the people act more as automatons than individuals, who are literally incapable of acting outside their designated functions, the language is geared more toward communicating tasks and functions than anything else. The language family will develop once the immutable control of the deities is broken and the people are able to behave as individuals and to choose their own functions and paths, consequently resulting in a change in the language as well.

As I see this exercise not only as developing a usable conlang but also to grow my experience and knowledge on the subject, I would like to post what I've done thus far and get feedback on how I can make it better. Thank you in advance for your help
Edited on May 22, 2020

ŗahrih raçnann
Phonology
b d c k g m n ɲ ʀ ɾ v s ç x h ʎ ɺ
b d c k g m n ń ŗ r v s ç x h j l

p’ t’ q’ s’
p’ t’ q’ s’

i u e o ɛ ɔ a ɒ
i u e o ě ö a ä

Allophones
I suck at allophones and would appreciate help on this one.

Phonotactics
  • CV(C)
  • Primary stress falls on initial syllable
  • Secondary stress falls on penultimate syllable, but only when there are three or more syllables
  • Stems do not have stress
Alignment
Nominative-Accusative

Word Order
  • Subject-Object-Verb
  • Case markings that distinguish between subject and object allow for variant OSV order without ambiguity.
  • Adjectives and numerals precede immediately the noun or noun phrase to which they refer.