What are the Benefits of Conlang ?? (on a practical and personal level)

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
M.Routier
rupestrian
rupestrian

What are the Benefits of Conlang ?? (on a practical and personal level)

Post by M.Routier »

Hello,

I am a University student in my first Linguistics class. For my final paper I was allowed to pick my topic, and really wanted to look into Conlang. I am specifically looking at how constructing or learning a Conlang can help with future language acquisition. I have looked into the argument that constructing a language makes one better understand language concepts, which then helps when learning a new language, as well as the argument that since conlang affect the same area of the brain as a second language, and since bilinguals can have an easier time learning languages then learning a Conlang and being proficient in it can have the same effect.

As a child I used to create what I thought where languages, but as I see them today, were more like codes than anything close to a Conlang. So my question for those with experience constructing a Conlang is this: do you find it is easier to learn a language you are constructing, than to learn a language you have not constructed? What other benefits could I look into for how Conlang can affect language acquisition? And out of personal curiosity, what benefits do you gain with constructing your own language? Why do you do it? Is it just out of pleasure or is there more?

I hope this is the appropriate place for these questions, and I am looking forward to the answers.

Thank you for your time,
Last edited by M.Routier on 15 Nov 2023 16:13, edited 1 time in total.
Arayaz
roman
roman

Re: Benefits of Conlang ??

Post by Arayaz »

Hello, and welcome to the board!