(Con)linguistic Tool Development Collaboration

A forum for guides, lessons and sharing of useful information.
thevulch
rupestrian
rupestrian

(Con)linguistic Tool Development Collaboration

Post by thevulch »

To be honest, nowadays I'm more interested in the tools to develop conlangs than the conlangs themselves - conlangs keep being created/abandoned as a constant stimulus to the community, but tools are rare and could have a significant impact. And as a software developer, I know I can contribute more by developing tools than conlangs. I also feel a bit in debt to all the entertainment and knowledge you social conlangers have provided on the CBB, ZBB, and /r/conlangs. Three different communities and all enjoyable.
A high number of conlangers, like me, also code - and these two usually intertwine, resulting in too many personal, one-man (con)linguistic tools being sporadically developed and abandoned. Some survive, and become very useful tools to said conlanger. The truly special ones, I feel, also end up in the hands of others.
By far, these tools are the children of one lonely dev, with a slow and jerky development history, the only pace a one-man team can have when confronted with a life's worth of events. I'm not quite sure why there isn't more collaboration now, but I'd assume it's because conlanging has been, and still usually is, a private and unique affair. We've had a few posts on resource "wish lists" started by an enthusiastic developer (on CBB, ZBB, and /r/conlangs), but usually no actual software developed, because tech that's broad enough to be useful to a large slice of the community is a tough enough undertaking to strain a single dev.

All that said, I'm looking to uncover or start some amount of collaboration. I haven't seen anything surrounding the LCS to suspect "official" software development, and apart from /r/conlangs posts concerning a few semi-popular tools, I don't see much about tools at all.