Hello and a Question!

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
M. Park
cuneiform
cuneiform

Hello and a Question!

Post by M. Park »

Hello, CBB

My name is Matt and I am new to the conlanging world. I’ve only been working on my language for about 3 weeks (cumulative time over 4 months). While I will admit I am not a linguist, I am an English Major with an enthusiasm for words and language. I can only hope that will be enough.

I have just started to turn my language notes into something someone else could read, and unfortunately this is where I’ve run into a whole host of problems. I know what things should sound like, and I know long-winded ways to describe what they should sound like, but I just know there must be some simple way to describe them, I just don’t know them. The good news is I’ve worked as an editor for some time so at the very least when I present my conlang it will be in a neat PDF. So that’s one thing I got going good.

I am hoping as long as I keep these questions to the Beginner’s corner this won’t be too much of a problem. I’m sure my questions will be so rudimentary that you experts will have no problem answering them.

Now onto the possibly simple question:

Right now I am writing up all I can about how various consonants sound when mashed up with other consonants or whether they sound different at the start or the end of a word. Currently I am on R. I have R being an alveolar trill when at the start of a word or in the middle when following certain vowels in the middle or end of a word. When, however, it is at the end of a word but proceeded by a consonant I want it to be pronounced ‘er’. I’ve tried to find what this would be called. I know it appears in certain Scandinavian languages (correct me if I’m wrong).

Does this feature have a name?

Thank you.
xinda
roman
roman

Re: Hello and a Question!

Post by xinda »

A syllabic alveolar approximant perhaps?
[ɹ̩]

So