First Language [snake/reptile based]

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
NoVacantNames
rupestrian
rupestrian

First Language [snake/reptile based]

Post by NoVacantNames »

I'm working on a comic where the antagonists are lizard folk. Instead of just doing random squiggles for their dialogue I thought giving it some actual backing would be cool. I'm new to this but found some guides and started picking sounds I thought they'd be capable of;

https://imgur.com/aLbnQrk (just the voiceless variants)

For the vowels I was thinking AEI would be sounds they could make as well.

My though process was more tongue, throat based, airy sounds. Nothing with the lips.

Was looking for some advice/guidance before I go further. I feel like trimming it down might help some, and also some advice on potentially 'romanizing' it so I can work with it more easily. An idea I had was using an apostrophe for where the sound is made in the mouth since they are pretty similar like ['th] for front [t'h] for middle, etc.
Tanni
greek
greek

Re: First Language [snake/reptile based]

Post by Tanni »

Welcome here on the CBB!
NoVacantNames wrote: 28 Jan 2020 00:26 I'm working on a comic where the antagonists are lizard folk.
Lizard folk can mean a lot, see e. g. Reptiloide in Perry Rhodan series. Check out the "Bekannte reptiloide Völker" (Known reptiloide people) part for how they look.
NoVacantNames wrote: 28 Jan 2020 00:26 Instead of just doing random squiggles for their dialogue I thought giving it some actual backing would be cool. I'm new to this but found some guides and started picking sounds I thought they'd be capable of;

https://imgur.com/aLbnQrk (just the voiceless variants)
As they are your invention, you can give them any abilities you like. They need not be restricted by the physis of actual lizards,