Is it correct for the rules of this voice alternations?

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
wyl118
rupestrian
rupestrian

Is it correct for the rules of this voice alternations?

Post by wyl118 »

Hi guys! I'm a graduate student from Korea. I'm doing some practice about assimilation but I don't know if it is correct.

Here is the question:
twelve twelfth
eight eighth
ten tenth

And this is my answer based on the book A Course in Phonology p54:

underlying level: twel[v]th eigh[t]th te[n]th

rules:
"voicelesslization" f NA NA

phonetic level: twel[f]th eigh[t]th te[n]th

I really have no idea whether this is right. Can you guys help me a little? Thanks in advance!

shimobaatar
korean
korean

Re: Is it correct for the rules of this voice alternations?

Post by shimobaatar »

The situation in "twelfth" is an instance of voicing assimilation. For "eighth" and "tenth", I'd describe it as place assimilation, with /t/ and /n/ becoming dental before /θ/.

Ser
sinic
sinic
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia / Colombie Britannique, Canada

Post by Ser »

wyl118 wrote:
20 Mar 2020 10:43
"voicelesslization"
The suffixes involved are -ize and -ation, so you should think of terms such as palatalization as palatal-iz-ation ((pal- + -ate + -al) + -ize + -ation), and nasalization as nasal-iz-ation ((nas- + -al) + -ize + -ation). Regardless, the correct term for the loss of voicing is "devoicing".

In twelve + -th = twelfth /twɛlfθ/ [tʰw̥ɛlfθ], /v/ undergoes devoicing to /f/ [f] because of regressive assimilation (or "anticipatory" assimilation, if you will) from the following /θ/.

In eight + -th = eighth /eɪtθ/ [eɪt̪θ], as mentioned by shimobaatar, /t/ [t] becomes dental [t̪] because of regressive assimilation for place of articulation from the following dental /θ/. This doesn't affect the phonemic representation, but there's a phonetic change in there (an allophone).