How to start making a conlang?

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
somerandomkid
rupestrian
rupestrian

How to start making a conlang?

Post by somerandomkid »

I'm new to conlanging and worldbuilding in general and have no idea where or really how to start. Can anyone help? Sorry if this isn't the right place to post this.
sangi39

Re: How to start making a conlang?

Post by sangi39 »

somerandomkid wrote: 03 Jan 2021 08:46 I'm new to conlanging and worldbuilding in general and have no idea where or really how to start. Can anyone help? Sorry if this isn't the right place to post this.
Honestly, I think this is one of those questions that has many different answers, and each person has their own method. However, I'll try to answer this with the way that's been my experience.

First step for me was reading, about real-world languages (natlangs) to start (this had already been a hobby, I just wanted to learn them, but kept flitting from one language to another), but I ended up wanting to throw everything at my prospective conlang so it ended up being what some call a "kitchen sink conlang", apparently a common thing for early conlangers, but not necessarily bad.

Then I found The Language Construction Kit by Mark Rosenfelder, which was basically where I went "ohhh, moderation", and it really kicked off my reading into how natlangs actually work. What they do, what they don't do, what various tendencies pop up (fairly good source for this sort of thing, honestly, is Wikipedia, WALS, and then following up any thoughts of "oo, that's interesting" with a quick run to Google or down to the links down at the bottom of Wikipedia). Oh, we also have our own resources thread as well, and asking question never hurts, and presenting what idea you have, in places like the Quick Questions threads.

As for an actual "process", I tend to go:

1) phoneme inventory
2) phonotactics
3) allophony
4) inflectional morphology