Language creation

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
Marduk
rupestrian
rupestrian

Language creation

Post by Marduk »

Hey everyone.

I have been writing machine/computer languages for about 8 years now. I am completely self taught and use my own tools. I have many languages that I have completed that work wonderfully. I have a program that I use with each language that translates in real time. Everything works nicely. My languages are around 56,000 words each. I use a combination of Excel and various custom tools to generate the languages.Language creation is not a easy process, but it is fun.It takes me about 4 hours to create one from scratch. I believe what I am creating is more like machine languages? I am certainly not knowledgeable about how to properly create languages as most on here. Its just a fun obsession.

Lately I have been into creating image languages. Languages based on images. I was curious if anyone has ever made a image language? How did you do it? Did you create your own custom font to go along with your language? Did you program a translation tool or app? What have you experimented with?

Also, what is the typical word count when others create languages? What tools do you use?
elemtilas
runic
runic

Re: Language creation

Post by elemtilas »

Show us some examples of what you've done!

As for word count, I think that varies anywhere between naught and 100k+. Much depends on the glossopoetry at the moment.

For tools, I at least prefer Pen-n-Paper 1.0 and Imaginarion 0.1.

Image languages are cool. By "image" do you mean some kind of written icon, like a hieroglyph or a written icon like, well, an actual icon. Pictography. And by "language" do mean the spoken language that is imagery-rich, like "Philip and the Eunuch at Dhirweh fountain, his eye opened" kind of thing?
Marduk
rupestrian
rupestrian

Post by Marduk »

Sure.Ive never shared, but here are 3 examples.link expires in 1 day.