Aiding Readers of Fiction...

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
-K2-
rupestrian
rupestrian

Aiding Readers of Fiction...

Post by -K2- »

Hello Everyone; First post. I have a basic question, after a brief personal introduction.

I'm a novice writer of sci-fi, dystopian, and high fantasy fiction. For some of my works, I've created fictional languages and cultures as part of world-building (E.g. a high-fantasy barbarian language and culture and a few near-future dystopian pidgins). I'll also incorporate languages other than English where appropriate to add realism to the scene.

My question/problem is, how to urge readers to not quit reading at the first instance of a word or phrase they don't recognize?

In some works, I'll explain the word/phrase through the viewpoint character's conveyed understanding/translation via their response, others through associated action, and some I'll leave unexplained if the VP-character doesn't understand it themselves. What I'd like to do is generate a simple *notice* for the front matter to urge readers to NOT dwell on the unfamiliar words and just keep reading.

Here is a response I wrote to a friend upon their review:
The trick to reading any unfamiliar language (written in the Latin/English alphabet) is to just read it. Sound out the words--if so inclined--and keep reading. Don't try to learn, decipher, or translate it. If the story is well-written, sooner than expected, you'll intuitively recognize various words and will understand their meaning. If you don't, it won't matter (in a well-written story). The associated responses, phrases, and actions convey what was said.

How might I improve upon that statement to aid subsequent readers?

Thanks for any input you might offer!

K2
Salmoneus
MVP
MVP

Re: Aiding Readers of Fiction...

Post by Salmoneus »

-K2- wrote: 24 Feb 2022 19:15 Hello Everyone; First post.
Welcome! Please enjoy your time here, and post again in future.