Avarin Language Development

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
Hugh_Capet
rupestrian
rupestrian

Avarin Language Development

Post by Hugh_Capet »

This is my first time endeavoring to develop a constructed language, and I was wonder what, if anything, I might be able to do to aid the process. As I'm looking specifically to develop a language for Windan tribe of Avari elves. My main problem is I'm not sure what language, if any, Tolkien might have used as inspiration for it. The only foundation I might have is based upon an earlier conception where Avarin (called Lemberin) is split into West, North, and East branches. The branches are said to be inspired by the Goidelic, Baltic, and Finnic languages, respectively.

However, I lack sufficient knowledge of how to proceed with the language, as I don't think it would be as simple as haphazardly applying real-life linguistic elements and hoping they make sense. Any advice or ideas offered would be most appreciated.
Salmoneus
MVP
MVP

Re: Avarin Language Development

Post by Salmoneus »

Windan! My favourite!

No, but seriously, I've had a few half-hearted goes at deriving Windan - though never beyond a few pages of notes. As you've discovered, it's hard to really hang a whole language on just one attested word and have it feel 'right'. Particularly because the Elvish languages may look natural at first glance, but aren't really, and I was trying to squeeze together a bit of that unnaturality with a naturally-derived daughter language and found it hard to produce something that was simultanously 'like a realy language' and also 'recognisably Tolkienian'. Of course, if you abandon that last part, it's a lot easier!