A writing system based on ideograms and a grammar

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
Squall
greek
greek

A writing system based on ideograms and a grammar

Post by Squall »

This is my first attempt of creating a writing system that uses ideograms and is not phonetic.

This writing system represents the expression of a human language. It does not represent the phonology. The grammar is part of the writing system, therefore the users do not follow the grammar of the spoken language. Its structure is rigid and it cannot represent any spoken sentence. Therefore, it cannot be used to write what to say in a formal speech or theater. However, the system is better to be processed by computers. It is expected to make someone understand a text written 3000 years later.

It contains two types of ideograms, the keywords and the concepts. The keywords represent grammatical functions and work like prepositions or particles. They represent pronouns, numbers, determiners, TAM and other grammatical words. The concepts are the real vocabulary, they are registered in a dictionary that contains pictures of the represented object. The concepts are always nouns (beauty and explanation instead of beautiful and explain). They can become adjective or verb according to the grammatical use.

Since I cannot type my characters, I will illustrate the use of the characters by using katakana as keywords and kanji as concepts. The katakana characters will receive random meanings. The kanjis were obtained from Wikipedia; they were found with Ctrl+F and copied with Ctrl+C. I will also use a representation with mnemonics.

Keywords

Some keywords are:
ア - [OBJ] - Direct object
イ - [ABL] - Indirect object (origin)
ウ - [DAT] - Indirect object (destination)
エ - [ADV] - Adverb
オ - [GEN] - Genitive
カ - [LOC] - Locative
キ - [DEF] - Definite article (singular). It is also used with pronouns.
ク - [DEF-PL] - Definite article (plural).
ケ - [AND] - And