Gotski

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
spanick
roman
roman

Gotski

Post by spanick »

Hi everyone, I’m new to CBB coming from ZBB. I noticed that Germanic Conlangs are all the rage here at CBB so I decided to share one I’ve been working on over at ZBB. There, the post is garbled so here there will be a much cleaner, straightforward presentation of the grammar. Most of it is verbatim from ZBB, but some has been edited when appropriate. I will note that méþru and Jal over at ZBB gave me lots of input and the orthography is basically the invention of méþru. Anyway, as you will see, what I have presented here is a liturgical language which I call Ekljeski Jęsük (Church Language) and is set in the early modern era. I am in the process of creating Tözski Jezük (Common Language) which is less conservative and set in the modern era.

External History
This was born of an idea I had a while back while I was studying Proto-Germanic. As we all know, PGmc split into North, West, and East branches; Gothic being the only real remnant of the East Germanic languages. My not so original idea was to create a South Germanic language which shared key features with East Germanic, such as no umlauting and lack of (pervasive) rhoticism as well as some of the grammatical features like a passive voice. Ultimately, I'd say I was not successful at creating a mythical South Germanic, but rather a variant East Germanic language. Indeed, in its initial stages of sound changes, it looked very similar to Gothic. At this stage, which is supposed to be spoken in the early modern era, it's still obviously related but pretty different. Ultimately, I decided this language is spoken somewhere in the Balkans; the speakers are Eastern Catholic; and the language is influenced by Old Church Slavonic (something analogous to Latin for English).

Internal History