English Verbs Questions

A forum for discussing linguistics or just languages in general.
Taurenzine
cuneiform
cuneiform

English Verbs Questions

Post by Taurenzine »

I personally believe that the way english verbs are "conjugated" if you can even call it that are quite broken, but because its the way I think and speak Its what I'd like to understand the way it works. So I have a question about a certain part of english verbs... The terms "Should", "Could" and "Would" fall under what grammatical category? is it part of a verb that depicts a certain aspect? or is it a mood? or is it some weird tense-like thing? can it even be considered any of those? All I know is that Its quite helpful to display meaning, and I'd like it for my language. I am an amateur conlanger and the biggest thing that I need to improve on is my understanding of linguistics, because I have no formal education for it.
All answers are much appreciated.
Sumelic
greek
greek

Re: English Verbs Questions

Post by Sumelic »

"should", "could" and "would" are part of the category that is usually called "modal auxiliaries" or "modal verbs". The class of "auxiliaries" in English refers to words with the "NICE" properties; some other English auxiliaries are "be", and in some cases "have" and "do".

The modal auxilaries have various meanings. "Tense", "aspect" and "mood" are all relevant. From a morphological perspective, most modal verbs come in present/past-tense pairs (will/would, can/could, shall/should, may/might etc.) but the semantic difference between the verbs in these pairs is rarely only, or even primarily one of tense in modern English. (This is related to the modal uses of the morphological "past tense" and so-called "past subjunctive" or "irrealis" in English: the "was" or "were" in a clause like "If I was/were..." is morphologically a "past-tense form", but semantically it doesn't have the meaning of a past tense.)
Iyionaku
mayan
mayan

Post by Iyionaku »